Q & A with Lauren Dinges, Miss Junior National Teen 2012!


 

  • Have you already attended the Prom?

Unfortunately, no! I’m only a freshman in high school but I can’t wait for my shining moment at prom!

  • What are you looking forward to the most?

Definitely picking out a dress! I love shopping, and gown shopping is even better! I love picking out a beautiful dress and the perfect accessories to go with it. And of course the hair and makeup! But I’m also looking forward to just having fun with my friends and dancing!

  • What made you try out for this Pageant?

I actually heard about America’s National Teenager Scholarship Organization through a friend and I decided to look into it. After looking into it, I found out that this pageant system focuses on what you have accomplished in school and in your community; and both of these interests are very important to me. I am a part of National Charity League and I’m also a total nerd! I have 2 Presidential Service Medals and all A’s, so this pageant system worked out perfectly for me! This was my first pageant ever and I love ANTSO and everything they believe in: true inner beauty.

  • Do you have a favorite memory from the Pageant?

Probably picking out a dress! Like I said earlier, I love shopping! And pageant dresses are always STUNNING, just like prom dresses. My mom and I went to numerous gown shops just to find the perfect one. It took a while, but once we found it, I knew it was the one.

But spending time in Miami, Florida for nationals wasn’t bad either! The beaches were beautiful, and it was the perfect location for the pageant.

  • What advice would you give girls your age on “following their dreams”?

Don’t ever let anyone tell you that you can’t do something. I use this advice in my own life all the time. You have to stay strong and be true to yourself.  There were many things in my life that people said I couldn’t do, including winning this pageant, but I knew that I could do anything I put my heart and soul into. One of my favorite movies is Legally Blonde, and not just because I love Reese Witherspoon! Surprisingly, the movie has an amazing message if you look closely. Elle Woods never let anyone get in her way of following her dreams and even found her true self in the process. Never give up because nothing is better than the feeling you get when you accomplish something others thought you couldn’t.

  • What are some of your go-to beauty products that would be a good recommendation for Prom Night?

For the face, my favorite products are from Clinique! Their foundations are lightweight and can match any skin tone flawlessly. They even have one that helps with acne! Their crem blushes are gorgeous as well and add flirty, natural-looking rosy cheeks that will last the whole night. For the eyes, I’m going to have to go with MAC Cosmetics! I’m obsessed with all of their eye shadow! With all of the beautiful color choices, you’re sure to find a color palette that compliments you and your dress. And of course, you can’t forget about those long lashes! A technique that leaves me with insanely long lashes is using a coat of Clinique’s lash building primerthen applying a couple coats of their high impact mascara. Top it all off with a coat or two of MAC’s pro long wear lip gloss and you’re ready to take your prom date’s breath away!

Leave a Reply

