Q & A with Miss Westchester Teen, Jacqueline Groccia!


  • Name: Jacqueline Groccia
  • Age: 15
  • Hometown: Eastchester
  • Grade Level: 10th
  • Have you already attended the Prom?

I attended Junior Formal in March and will be attending Eastchester High School’s senior prom in June.

  • What was your favorite memory from Junior Formal?

My favorite memory from Junior Formal is being around so many kids my age.  Just one big teenage funfest. Music, dancing and good memories.

  • What are you looking forward to the most about senior prom?

I am very excited to be there to celebrate the end of high school with my senior friends.  I bought a beautiful baby pink dress that I can’t wait to wear.  I have been doing a lot of work with the executive director, Noel D’Allacco, of Operation Prom who in addition to giving away prom wear to needy students, has a line of affordable prom dresses available through Promologist.com.

  • Do you plan to go to an After-Prom?

I am planning on attending an After-Prom with a group of friends. I love that The Prom Company alleviates some stress that may arise from planning After-Prom events, assuring it will be non-alcoholic, but just as fun!

  • What made you try out for this Pageant?

Going into 9th grade, I was not as confident as I knew I could be and was looking for something to bring out my girly side. I saw an ad in a local newspaper for Miss Westchester Teen and thought it would be the perfect way to keep busy over the summer and break me out of my shell; which it certainly did! After winning the Spirit Award the first year, I came back with more experience, confidence and poise to try again which is when I was crowned Miss Westchester Teen 2012.

  • Do you have a favorite memory from the Pageant?

Over the summer, the pageant directors, Dee van Eyck and Laura Giannone hosted some really fun photo shoots at a variety of different venues including salons, beach clubs and Playland. My favorite was the evening gown photo shoot at the Whitby Castle in Rye; it felt like a Teen Vogue ad – beautiful venue, gorgeous girls, and fabulous dresses, isn’t that every girls dream? The photo shoots provided the perfect opportunity to bond with the other girls before the pageant competition.  In the end we were all great friends.

  • What advice would you give to girls your age on “following their dreams”?

Confidence is the key. In order to follow your dreams,  which takes motivation and persistence, you need to be confident with yourself and your choices. Confidence will give you the strength to never give up. Being confident helped me prepare for the Miss New York Teen competition and to follow my dream of being on the big stage.

  • What are some of your go-to beauty products that would be good recommendations for Prom Night?

Primers are essential! I actually have a YouTube beauty channel, LoveAlwaysJackie where I demonstrate techniques and highlight some great products. MAC Prep and Prime for your face and Urban Decay Primer Potion are great choices for keeping your foundation and eye shadow flawless throughout the evening.  Primers will keep your make up perfect from the first photo to the last. Prom night is also the perfect occasion to wear false eyelashes.  Ardell lashes are easy to apply, and add the perfect amount of glam to any look!

Miss Westchester Teen came to our After Prom Fashion Show at El Morocco!

To learn more about Miss Westchester Teen take a look at her pageant biography or her Twitter!

Leave a Reply

